sevensurge

first day of work

Today was a good day.

This morning I went to a quick training session for a new technology being implemented throughout my entire brokerage firm, so that was pretty interesting and I met a very nice woman from my office. After that I met with my manager, signed up for more training, and was assigned a mentor. My work day was finished before noon... not bad.

After running a few errands, I decided to indulge myself with a little gratuitous car shopping. I've been planning on getting a new car for a while, since my Sentra doesn't exactly cut it in the real estate market. I test drove a Ford Escape Hybrid, which I liked, but the salesman was crappy and the MSRP was $33k, so I soon forgot about it. I've always been a fan of Saabs, especially the new 9-3, so tonight my stepmother and I went to the Saab dealer for a test drive. I loved the new 9-3, as I figured I would, but the bottom line was just too steep to be practical. My one good eye then wandered toward the pre-owned lot, and several test drives later, I had a deposit on a dark blue 2002 Saab 9-3 five-door. Tomorrow's task is to quickly look at and/or drive as many other comparable options as possible to make sure that the Saab is what I want. After that, my priority will be to get my car sold. Before that can happen, though, I have to get it repaired. Some old mister crappy from Ohio backed into my car during my trip to Florida, so tomorrow morning I'm going to get the estimate for repairs. Hopefully it will all get worked out quickly so I can sell it.

Just like every other night, tonight is ending on the phone with Steve. Tonight, however, he's stoned. Most people would be less than content with such a situation, and call me crazy, but for some reason I think it's cute. He rarely smokes up anymore, and recently he's only done it with me, so I know how it affects him. He's absolutely adorable when baked, and if anything, I'm sorry that I'm not there to experience it firsthand.

So in addition to the damage estimate and last-minute car shopping, tomorrow I meet with my mentor for the first round of things, then am off to fiestada's house for a relaxing evening.

I'm Listening To: Muse - Hysteria
One Thing I Did Today: broke the sunroof in a brand new $37,000 car

Tuesday, Jun. 14, 2005 at 12:28 AM

before :: after