sevensurge

I want a Cookie. BAD.

Today was a good day. Part of what made today good was that it wasn't all pleasant. A good portion of it was enjoyable, but there were also parts which made me sad and the like, but those parts made the day very real, which only added to the good-ness of it.

I may have stayed awake through my classes yesterday, but I'm not one to do the same thing two days in a row. In my Global Management class this morning, my professor announced a last-minute guest speaker, an alum from my school who has been working at Yale for the past 30 odd years. This dude strolls in the room, stands behind the podiumish thing, and proceeds to stand perfectly still while droning on and on and on for nearly 45 minutes. Literally, his body never moved, his voice never changed pitch, and his facial features never budged an inch. Worst speaker EVER. I was out like a light in no time, nodding in and out of consciousness. I try to avoid this at all costs, though, especially during the second week of classes. To combat the severe boredom, I tuned out the speaker completely and wrote my best friend a letter. I always write letters in class when I can't concentrate for one reason or another. It keeps me awake, makes it look like I'm actually taking notes, and keeps me in touch with those I care about. A win-win-win situation, really, unless you need to, erm, pass the class or something.

After class I went to the commons for lunch, where I sat with Maryann and her buddy Cathy. At some point, this person walks by and sits at a nearby table. This person had a shaved head. I was trying to decide on this person's gender, when I whispered to Maryann how difficult it can sometimes be to determine gender of some people. She then shot me a scornful look, informing me that the person in question was a cancer patient. Ordinarily I'd insert my foot promptly into my mouth, but I really wasn't making fun of the person at all, so I only felt a tiny bit bad.

In geology lab, I had to work with three guys I don't really know. One of them lived down the hall from me last year, and is in all of my classes this semester. We've never spoken a word to each other, as there's always been this sort of unspoken unpleasantness between us. However, today we got to talking and I realized he's actually not a bad guy. And his roommate from last year was hot as all get-out. Tall and skinny? Yes please, we know what they say about those boys, oh yes we do.

After lab I came back to the house and sat on the front porch for over an hour, reading a book. Beautiful weather. It was perfect.

I headed up to the main open space on campus for this evening's activity fair, where all the clubs and organizations have a table set up for all the students (especially freshmen) to walk around and get a taste for what's offered. My friend Chelsea and I set up the table for our school's fag group, and ended up getting 30 or so people to sign up, not a bad turnout for such a small school. The only unpleasant part of this fair was the hot guy I've been crushing on for over two years. He was walking around the whole time, complete with my eyes undressing him every step of the way. At one point, as he walked by alone, he smiled his gorgeous smile at me (sitting at the gay table) for literally five seconds straight. I swear to god he did it on purpose, just to drive me insane. And it worked.

Tonight I performed the first of what will hopefully become many dramatic readings to my roommates. Yes, I realize this sounds spectacularly homotastic, but it's not what it sounds like. I'd love to go into greater detail, but the specifics aren't for everyone to know. If you'd like to know, and oh you should, I'll tell ya privately.

Fiestada made me smile this evening with words spoken from a noisy bar.

Alright, I'm off to spend the night at Missy's house. You know, the hot blonde girl that smoked me up all the damn time last semester? Yeah. Peace out.

I'm Listening To:
One Thing I Did Today:

Friday, Sept. 17, 2004 at 1:03 AM

before :: after