sevensurge

exceptionally lousy

Last night I went to dinner with my second boyfriend and his parents. I love his parents. And they love me. They are, quite possibly, the exact opposite of my parents. I love my parents too and all, but these folks are so down to earth it's scary. His mom, especially. She frequently asks me two questions: When will you and Jon get back together? and Wanna get high? I love the woman to death.

So dinner was great. They took me to a seafood/steak kinda place, and recommended the crabcakes. Now, being a Baltimore native, I've always felt like an outsider for not really liking crabs and crabcakes. In fact, I've had many a person flat-out yell at me for not enjoying these things. Sitting in the restaurant last night, I realized that I haven't actually tried a crabcake in at least 10 years or so, so I ordered one. And enjoyed it. I feel better now. Now I can say I'm from Balmer, Merlin with pride.

To be honest, it was actually really good to see him again. We dated last summer, and while things didn't end on a bad note, everything between us was just always very... bizarre. He recently got his hair all cut off and is looking quite cute, and since J is no longer in the picture, I found myself biting my tongue. I sent Maryann a text message explaining my new dilemma, to which she responded "seriously sevensurge, pick one penis and stick with it." *sigh*

Today brought more house hunting with our real estate agent, who is one cool broad, if I may say so myself. (Back in 1999 when she was helping us move, she told us that in her younger days she once modeled for a "biker chick" magazine...heh) My parents and I are looking to acquire a few distressed properties, fix them up a bit, and sell them again for a profit. This, in theory, will become my full-time job upon graduation in May. The problem is the market -- I imagine most markets are experiencing similar situations, but seriously, the Baltimore/DC real estate market is ridiculous right now. We are purposefully looking for homes with cosmetic damage, etc., and have seen some properties that are DISGUSTING. Regardless, people are buying them up within a week on the market for above list price. One we looked at today had extensive water damage throughout the entire house, needed a new kitchen, and tons of exterior attention. It's been on the market for FOUR days. They already have several above-list price offers, and expect more. We can't move in that situation, so it's all becoming very discouraging.

Three more things, then I'm done bitching:

1) I still miss J. A lot. There is absolutely no excuse for missing him, especially since he never said anything in response to the letter. I really really really wish I did not miss him, but, I do.

2) My body hurts way too much for it to be normal. I'm 21 years old. Granted, my mother has an abnormal number of things wrong with her, most of which are genetic and coming my way, but still. I've increased my water intake... nothing. I've started exercising a lot more... nothing. I always take plenty of Vitamin C... nothing. I adjust my sleep habits... nothing. I change my diet... nothing. No matter what I do, I cannot seem to get rid of the aches and pains. I'm exhausted *all* the time, am getting headaches much more frequently, and I've started sweating more than I used to. Right now, I'm sitting at my desk, just wearing boxers, with the ceiling fan on, and am sweating. That probably elicits a mental image of some obese fatty, but honest, I'm not. And I don't smoke. I don't understand what my problem is. Worst part of it all? J gave the best massages. *sigh*

3) For the first time practically all summer, I'm starting to get worried about going back to New York. This is normal, I realize, but... things just seem like they're not happening the way they're supposed to in all facets of my life right now. The last thing I want to happen is for my last year of college to be fucked up.

I'm Listening To:
One Thing I Did Today:

Sunday, Aug. 29, 2004 at 10:50 PM

before :: after