sevensurge

perpetual yellow light runner

Went to Philly this weekend, met Maryann there to visit Erin.

Drank lots of wine, assembled a table and chairs, and made no less than five attempts to find a place to buy beer, all unsuccessful. Pennsylvania just doesn't want people to have beer, I guess.

On Saturday we went to Erin's mom's new house, with an in-ground pool. The entire afternoon was all too appropriate, and reflected very accurately on all of us.

First, Erin forgot the keys to the house, forcing us to stay outside for hours until her mom got home. Then she put on her bathing suit in broad daylight. When it got time to get in the pool, she did so very cautiously, but ended up all the way in.

Maryann put her swimsuit on outside, but in the protected area next to the house. Then her crazy ass just jumped in the water.

I changed into my bathing suit in the shed, with the door pulled far enough shut for no one to see me. Instead of getting in the cold water, I walked around the pool for 45 minutes, skimming every last piece of debris out of the water. It took me over an hour to actually get in the water, and it only lasted about five minutes before I was back out, skimming some more.

Such an accurate representation of all of us, I tell you.

That night, with the help of even more wine, we established our respective places on the 'car wreck' ladder:

Maryann: fender bender

Erin: oil tanker, on fire, going off the end of a bridge

me: "oh no, I just ran a yellow light!"

*sigh*

I'm Listening To:
One Thing I Did Today:

Monday, Jul. 19, 2004 at 4:30 PM

before :: after