sevensurge

TGIF ferreal yo

Work has really started to piss me off this week. There are two full-time people on the helpdesk, with a budget for some temporary workers as well. One guy is temporarily here full-time, and I am temporarily here full-time for a few weeks as well. That means there�s four of us for the time being. Helpdesk hours have been set at 8 to 6, which means two people work 8 to 5 and two people work 9 to 6. I would have much rather worked 8 to 5, but I was told from the beginning that I would be 9 to 6. Fine.

This has led to the other 9 to 6 person to take advantage of the situation, often times leave at 5 with everyone else and leaving me here alone until 6. Whatever.

So when you assign me to a nine-hour shift, five days a week, you�ve got to expect some 40+ hour work weeks. Last week my time totaled 42 hours, and on Tuesday I received a warning for going over 40 hours. Excuse me? You�ve given me a 45-hour work week, and I�m getting in trouble for working over 40? My office building is literally right off the capital beltway, but not terribly close to anything else. Restaurants are a 10 minute drive away, so I only eat lunch out on Fridays. The other four days of the week are spent eating lunch in the building�s atrium. How long do they expect me to eat for? It takes me 10 minutes tops, but I meander around and make it take a half hour. Eight point five hours daily, except for Friday when I am gone for an hour. 42 hours total.

But nooooo. Fine, I�ll force myself to be away from my desk (while neglecting the callers who validate the reason for our entire existence) and study for oceanography or something. I didn�t get the warning until Tuesday, though, and I had already put in nine hours on Monday. We were really busy on Monday, and both permanent employees had a meeting all afternoon, so working through lunch was a no-brainer. I asked my boss (after my warning) if my nine-hour Monday (which would lead to a 41 hour week) would be a problem, and she said no.

Our weekly time was due early this week, yesterday by noon. I put in eight hours for Tuesday through Friday, and submitted my 41 hours.

Guess who got an email from the director of the project, you know, the woman who should be waaaaay too busy to be dealing with this? That�s right, me:

John/Steven -

Casual employees can only charge up to 40 hours per week. Please ensure we remain within the limit.

You have GOT to be kidding me! I sent John (my supervisor, although I never, ever see or work with him) a response offering to cut today�s hours back to seven to even it out. He took me up on my offer. You�d think this would mean I could work from 9 to 5 today, since no one will be calling between 5 and 6 on a Friday, right? Wrong. 10 to 6 so my fellow 9 to 6�er can go home early! I am not pleased.

To get my mind off of it, dad and I went to a sports bar/restaurant last night, sat at the bar, ordered some beer and sandwiches, and bitched about work. Made me feel like an old crotchety man, but that�s what I am so it�s okay.

I have another oceanography essay due Sunday night. This one is on krill fishing�s impact on the north pole or some shit. This subject is completely made up, and my textbooks have absolutely no information on the topic. Bullshit.

Justin�s parents are going to the beach for the weekend, which allows us to enjoy play time while they�re gone. I�m stoked. I want to see Dodgeball this weekend, as well.

Father�s Day is on Sunday, and I don�t have a thing for my dad. This is common. My stepmother and I will most likely frantically shop for something he won�t really like, and another year will go on.

I always go to lunch on Fridays with my dad and our coworker Doug, but they just left without me because I�ve only been here for about two hours. Icing on the 41-hour cake.

I'm Listening To:
One Thing I Did Today:

Friday, Jun. 18, 2004 at 12:02 PM

before :: after