sevensurge

best Memorial Day weekend, continued

Since Raji was possibly leaving for India yesterday, I went to say goodbye on Sunday night. I left my house around 9:00, telling my parents I wouldn�t be long. I ended up staying at her house until almost midnight, though. On my way home, I called Justin. We were both in the mood to hang out. Instead of going home, waking up my parents, and immediately leaving again, I just went straight to his house. We decided to go to Lake Elkhorn to walk around. That was really nice, since I�d never been all the way around the lake before. This gave us the opportunity to talk about our families a bit more, his college plans, my rapidly-ending college plans, etc.

This kid is heavily involved with theatre, choir, madrigals, etc. This is a first for me. In the past, I have ALWAYS run for cover when I hear any of those words. Justin, on the other hand, intrigues me. Certainly not impossible to believe, but you wouldn�t guess he�s one of those gay guys. In fact, he�s not even gay. He�s a confirmed bisexual, with self-proclaimed tendencies to �go through spurts� of one gender or the other. He told me that lately he�s only been interested in girls until, you know, me. There�s absolutely no lack of passion when he�s around me, so uh, whatever works.

Anyway, after the lake, we went back to his house. His family was in Ocean City for the weekend, so we decided to watch a movie there. He had already told me that Empire Records is one of his favorites, and I�ve always wanted to see it, so we did just that. Granted, I didn�t see 100% of it, but I�d say a good 90%. It was quite good, or �campy� as Justin said while giggling. And not giggling in an annoying faggy way, giggling in a sexy makes-me-wanna-make-out-with-you kind of way. Mmmmm.

The movie was followed by MTV, just like the night before, only the making out was considerably more intense this time. I ended up getting a hickey for the record books, which is really not cool. I�m not down with hickeys, I think they�re really tacky and uncalled for. It�s a good thing they were enjoyable to receive or else I�d have been pissed.

My parents both went to work in the morning yesterday, so I knew my timeframe for concealing the hickeys was short. I jumped out of bed on four hours of sleep, showered, and ran to fiestada�s for her makeup assistance. I was able to make them look much better, although they were still kinda visible. My stepmother has yet to say anything about them, and I know she would if she saw them�she did the one other time I had a hickey. Dammit.

What my stepmother did say, however, was �so�you practicing safe sex?� Um, okay. Two days is a little early to be having sex, no? I assured her I wasn�t practicing any kind of sex, and we left it at that.

So Raji did not leave yesterday, she�s leaving today. For one final goodbye, I went to see her again last night. Tiffany joined us. Raji really wanted to meet Justin before she left, so I had him come over too. At one point while he was distracted, Tiffany caught my attention and gave me the thumbs-up while mouthing the words �hell yeah�he is HOT!� to me. That�s the shit right there. I�ve had an acceptable amount of action from attractive guys I suppose, but it�s never even been potentially serious. My one-time romp with Nick was awesome for sex�s sake, but anyone who knows me knows that I�m not too concerned with sex. That�s what makes this different.

But it gets even better than that. I was with my ex boyfriend Jay for almost two years, and while a good portion of that time was probably the best part of my life, I can�t remember him ever making me feel *good* about myself. Sure, I was happy (up until the beginning of the end), but I cannot recall Jay ever making me think positively about myself. Even after two years! Yes, he helped me grow in considerable ways, but that�s a separate issue.

And then there�s Justin. Even after just three days, I can honestly say that he makes me feel good about myself. I have never, ever been called hot in the middle of a make-out session before, in Spanish no less.

But I�m getting ahead of myself.

I gave Raji a hug goodbye and left. Justin followed me home, where we went for a quick walk on the golf course. He had to get home, so our alone time was pretty quick, but ended in the kind of kiss that requires no words.

Due to my 13-year-old-girl-ish-ness at times, I decided to bring up the �I, uh, like you �n stuff� factor�online. I was a little worried, since I am older and feel completely out of touch, but I was immediately put at ease when he told me that he really had no clue as to whether or not I liked him, but now he knows, and the feelings are mutual.

On a completely separate and less-interesting note, the sterile fluorescent environment here at work is getting to me already, and this is only my third day. All the windows are behind my back. If I don�t turn around, I could sit here for 24 hours straight and would never know the outside conditions. This is identical to last summer, since I�m only about 10 feet from where I sat then, but it feels different for some reason.

My online oceanography class starts today. [side note: a conference call just started in the cube next to me, and can I just say that Josh from the EPA sounds hot? Yeah.] I logged in to get the course description, syllabus, etc, and discovered that I have four hour-long videos to watch, four different lessons to read, and a three-page essay to do�this week. What the fuck? Two videos are broadcast each Tuesday and Thursday, the first at 9AM and the second at 6PM. First of all, I�m at work both of those times, and second, how are you gonna broadcast a mandatory video at 9AM on the first day of an online class? No! This is going to be awful.

It�s 1:00, so I should go to lunch now. It�s difficult for me to take a lunch break, because I sit here and do nothing all day, so why should I take an unpaid break to do nothing? From 12 to 1 I got paid to sit here, yet from 1 to 2 they expect to have me sit here and do nothing for free. I dunno, that just bothers me. Perhaps I�ll eat downstairs, then go for a walk around the building or something. This whole working until 6:00 thing isn�t working for me.

I'm Listening To:
One Thing I Did Today:

Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004 at 1:06 PM

before :: after